Broken Silence

1994 - Red House Records

“His acoustic guitar sings and swings, whispers tenderly and produces the most exciting music that I have heard in a long time. A Masterpiece” (Mittelbayerische Zeitung, Germany)

“'s so liquid, lyrical and effortless that it's like listening to a dancer.” -Steve Tibbetts

“In guitarist Dean Magraw's music, melodic jazz, blues, world music, and acoustic folk music all combine in an original fashion. Magraw performs primarily his tunes plus a song apiece by cornetist Don Cherry, Vince Guaraldi, and Charles Mingus ("Better Get It in Your Soul"). He is heard in unaccompanied solos and sometimes with guests… The music is subtle and mostly quite original, worth several close listens.” -Scott Yanow

“...Dean Magraw is truly bent....[BROKEN SILENCE is an] acoustic guitarist's stunning debut. This is a player who is truly in control of his instrument. But panache, not flash is his hallmark....Impossible to pigeonhole, and impossible to ignore…” -Dirty Linen

  • Dean Magraw (guitar)
  • Steve Tibbetts (guitar)
  • Peter Ostroushko (mandolin)
  • Jim Anton (electric bass)
  • Marc Anderson (congas, frame drum, cymbals, triangle, percussion)
  • Recorded at Studio M,
    and Studi-O, St. Paul, MN
  • Photographer: Daniel Corrigan
Track List
  1. Saturn
  2. Brothers and Sisters
  3. Mopti
  4. Só Quero Um Xodó
  5. Turn the Key
  6. Mohandas
  7. Gracie's Reel
  8. Soul in Motion
  9. Cast Your Fate to the Wind
  10. Better Get Hit in Yo' Soul
  11. Coeur d'Alene
Dean Magraw: Broken Silence
Purchase Online


Broken Silence - Dean Magraw

Recordings can be purchased directly from Dean.

$15 will cover the cost of the CD, shipping and handling. ($17 if outside the U.S.) Send a check or money order to:
Dean Magraw · 1497 Sargent Ave · St. Paul, MN 55105